Skip to main content
R
Cost ReductionEstablished · 7 yrs on market

Ramp

All-in-one spend management platform: corporate cards, expenses, accounts payable, travel, procurement, and accounting automation.

By Ramp · 4.5/5 verified-buyer score

Positioning guardrails

Best for

  • Finance teams that want cards, expense management, AP, travel, and procurement in one system
  • Mid-market and enterprise companies consolidating several point tools into one spend platform
  • Teams that want policy enforced at swipe time rather than in after-the-fact review
  • Companies with high AP volume needing invoice OCR, three-way match, and fraud screening
  • Multi-entity, multi-currency businesses needing 40+ ERP integrations

Ideal size: 50-5,000 employees people · Scale-up to enterprise with a dedicated finance or accounting function

Not for

  • Buyers who only want a single point solution, such as cards alone or bill pay alone
  • Very small teams with no need for spend controls, AP automation, or ERP sync
  • Organizations that cannot share transaction and banking data with a third-party fintech
  • Companies needing on-premise deployment or full custom-hosted infrastructure

Value metrics scorecard

Time-to-Value

Up to 30 days to full rollout

~30 days to first production value

Total Cost of Ownership

$18,000/yr

Starts at $0 · Free tier at $0/user/month; Plus at $15/user/month plus a team-size platform fee (20% off with annual billing); Enterprise custom-priced on annual billing.

Implementation Friction

2/5

Engineering + admin effort required

Buyer Score

4.5

out of 5 · verified buyers

Full cost breakdown

Mandatory implementation fee

None

Seat tiers

No seat minimum stated; plans are Free, Plus, and custom Enterprise.

Add-on costs

  • Procurement is an add-on to Plus or Enterprise plans.
  • 1099 filings at $0.65 per IRS filing; state filing free.
  • Enterprise custom implementation, ERP extensions, and training priced separately.

Company & support

Who is behind Ramp, and how your team gets help once it is live.

Company

Founded
Not recorded
Headquarters
Not recorded

How you get support

  • PhonePaid plans
  • EmailPlan not stated
  • Live chatAll plans
  • Support portal / ticketsNot listed
  • Community forumNot listed
  • Help centre / docsAll plans
  • Dedicated account managerEnterprise only
  • In person / on-siteNot listed
Hours
24/7
Response time
Not stated

Pricing page lists a help center for all plans, 24/7 chat support on Free, 24/7 phone support for travel on Plus and Enterprise, and priority 24/7 global support plus a dedicated account and customer success manager on Enterprise.

“Not listed” means the vendor’s public pages don’t mention that channel, not that it is unavailable. Ask about it during evaluation.

Market position

Where Ramp sits relative to every other solution in the database. Toggle axes to compare on cost, speed, friction, or buyer score.

Quadrant view

Typical annual cost × Time-to-value

$0/yr$20k/yr$39k/yr$59k/yr$79k/yr0d47d94d142d189dAnnual TCO ← betterDays to value ↑ betterQuick & CheapQuick & PriceySlow & CheapSlow & PriceyRamp
Ramp is highlighted; the rest of the database is dimmed for context. Click any dot to open its dossier.

Stack fit signal

Compatibility with standard B2B ecosystems.

MCPNot supported

No supported MCP path today, so it cannot be driven from an AI client.

SalesforceNot supported
AWSNot supported
SnowflakeNot supported
HubSpotNot supported
Google WorkspaceIntegration
Microsoft 365Integration
SAPIntegration
SlackIntegration

AI & MCP readiness

What Ramp ships in AI, and what it asks of your ecosystem.

AI features shipped

Agentic workflowsDocument processingAnomaly detectionNLP automation

Ramp documents AI agents for AP (auto-coding, fraud prevention, approval routing, payment), a Policy Agent reviewing 100% of expenses, AI OCR for invoice capture, and AI coding of transaction fields. Vendor states decisions are transparent and auditable and that no money-moving action happens without human confirmation.

In your ecosystem

AI connection
Not supported
Model key
Not recorded
AI usage audit
Not recorded

Industry verdicts

How Ramp speaks to each vertical it serves — same data, sector lens.

ConstructionWin bids, run sites, keep projects on margin.

Best for in Construction

  • Project-driven spend across many jobsites with budget tracking
  • High-volume subcontractor and materials payments through Bill Pay
  • Firms wanting cashback plus real-time card controls on field spend

Not for

  • Contractors needing certified payroll or job costing inside the spend tool
  • Firms whose entire back office depends on a legacy construction ERP

Ramp publishes construction and engineering customer stories, including an enterprise case citing $5M saved with spend controls and cashback and a contractor reporting 30 hours saved on month-end close. It fits contractors and builders whose finance team already runs a modern ERP such as NetSuite, Sage Intacct, Viewpoint, or Trimble and wants cards, AP, travel, and procurement unified. Ramp is not a construction ERP, so buyers should keep their job-costing and billing system of record.

Fintech & Financial ServicesMove money fast without moving risk.

Best for in Fintech & Financial Services

  • Regulated financial firms needing audit trails and separation of duties
  • Fast-scaling fintechs issuing virtual cards for cloud and vendor spend
  • Companies that must evidence ACH fraud controls and vendor verification

Not for

  • Institutions that cannot send transaction data to a third-party fintech
  • Broker-dealers needing specialized regulatory reporting outside spend management

Ramp's customer page includes banking and financial services case studies and a compliance page tied to Nacha ACH fraud-monitoring rules, with per-transaction fraud screening, vendor account verification, documented approval chains, and searchable audit trails. That combination suits fintech and financial services teams that need card controls, AP automation, and evidence for auditors. Buyers should confirm data-sharing and model-governance requirements with their own risk and compliance teams.

Retail & CommerceSell everywhere, stock nothing twice.

Best for in Retail & Commerce

  • Multi-location retailers with high card volume and cashback upside
  • Teams needing vendor, subscription, and duplicate-charge control across stores
  • Retailers reconciling spend to an ERP with multi-entity support

Not for

  • Retailers looking for inventory, POS, or merchandising systems
  • Very small single-store operators with minimal card and vendor spend

Ramp operates a retail industry page and cites retail and consumer brands among its 70,000+ customers, including marketplaces and direct-to-consumer names, with reported savings from cashback, spend controls, and duplicate-subscription detection. It fits retailers that want cards, expenses, AP, and procurement in one system feeding a modern ERP. Ramp is a spend platform, not a merchandising, POS, or inventory system.

Compliance attestations

SOC 2 ISO 27001 — not heldGDPR — not heldHIPAA — not heldFedRAMP — not heldISO 42001 — not heldIAPP AIGP* — not held

* IAPP AIGP certifies individuals, not products. It means named staff hold the credential — not that the platform does.

Bottom line

Ramp is an all-in-one spend management platform combining corporate cards, expense management, accounts payable, travel, procurement, and treasury in one system. It says 70,000+ businesses use it and claims full implementation in 30 days or less, with ERP connection in minutes. Pricing starts free, with Plus at $15 per user per month plus a platform fee and custom Enterprise tiers. AI agents handle coding, fraud checks, approvals, and invoice processing. SOC 2 Type II is reported on Ramp's security page.

Frequently asked questions

What does Ramp cost, and is there a free plan?

Yes. Ramp Free is $0 per user per month and includes unlimited physical and virtual corporate cards, expense management, AP with OCR invoice capture, travel, treasury, and QuickBooks Online and Xero integrations. Plus is $15 per user per month plus a platform fee based on team size, with a 20% discount for annual billing. Enterprise is custom-priced on annual billing. Procurement is a paid add-on to Plus or Enterprise, and 1099 filings cost $0.65 each for federal filing, with state filing free.

How long does it take to get live on Ramp?

Ramp says full implementation takes 30 days or less. Its stated checklist covers connecting an ERP in about 5 minutes, uploading a spend policy in 2 minutes, and issuing a first card in 1 minute, with the rest of the period spent on roles, approval workflows, AP configuration, testing, and a pilot rollout. Enterprise customers get custom implementation scoping, integration setup and validation testing, and employee training and change management.

Which accounting and business systems does Ramp integrate with?

Ramp advertises 200+ integrations and 40+ accounting systems. Named accounting integrations include NetSuite, Sage Intacct, QuickBooks Online and Desktop, Xero, Workday Financial Management, Acumatica, Microsoft Dynamics 365 Business Central and Finance and Operations, and Oracle Fusion Cloud, with Workday and Oracle on Enterprise. It also lists banking, HR and payroll partners such as ADP, BambooHR, Gusto, Workday, and SAP SuccessFactors, plus productivity tools like Slack, Microsoft Teams, and Jira. Custom CSV export and an open API are also available.

Is Ramp secure and compliant?

Ramp's security page reports SOC 2 Type II annual audits and PCI compliance, encryption in transit and at rest, SSO with Okta, Google, and Microsoft Azure, MFA for every user, single-vendor virtual cards, and 24/7 fraud monitoring. No ISO 27001, HIPAA, FedRAMP, or ISO 42001 claims appear in the sources reviewed, so buyers with those obligations should request evidence directly.

Does Ramp replace our expense, AP, or travel tools?

Ramp positions itself as an all-in-one platform covering corporate cards, expense management, accounts payable, travel, procurement, and treasury. Customers cited on its site report replacing multiple point tools, such as a procurement system and a separate bill-pay product, and consolidating card management, expense reporting, and reimbursements across countries. Buyers should still expect to keep their ERP, payroll, and other systems of record that Ramp feeds rather than replaces.

How does Ramp use AI, and is it safe for payments?

Ramp describes AI agents for AP auto-coding, fraud prevention, approval routing, and payment, plus a Policy Agent that reviews every expense and flags only exceptions. It claims 99% OCR accuracy on invoice extraction and AI coding of transaction fields. Ramp states its decisions are transparent and auditable and that nothing moves money without human confirmation. The sources do not state which model is used or whether customers may supply their own model keys.